Register for CSA’s SECtember conference and trainings today


Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) Modules for Non-Tech Staff

Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) Modules for Non-Tech Staff

Blog Article Published: 07/21/2021

The Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) is a standard of expertise for cloud security. While this is a certificate that technical professionals typically strive to earn, the study materials can also offer valuable lessons to non-technical staff interested in gaining a general understanding of cloud security.

The module series for the CCSK Foundation course is a valuable training ground for those interested in the foundations of cloud security. Students can purchase modules individually and complete them in their own time. Each module has a 60-day license, allowing students to stretch out their learning as needed. Non-tech staff can gain cloud security knowledge by completing modules at their own pace.

Below are 3 helpful modules that can increase the general cloud security proficiency of your non-technical staff.

Module 1: Cloud Architecture

The first module in the series introduces the fundamentals of cloud computing and gives students a framework for approaching cloud security. In 6 units, students will learn about cloud computing service models, delivery models, and fundamental characteristics. Module 1 has an estimated completion time of 1 hour and 10 minutes.

Students will also discover the difference between static virtualization vs. cloud computing, resource pooling and multitenancy, and the NIST model for cloud. Lastly, students will be introduced to the Shared Responsibility Model and its security considerations. Below is a preview of two of the units included with Module 1.

Unit 2 - Introduction and Cloud Architecture

This unit introduces the definition of cloud computing by explaining the combination of abstraction and automation. Instructor Rich Mogull illustrates the concepts with a digital whiteboard, which is especially helpful for visual learners. Lastly, the benefits of the cloud are expressed.

Unit 3 - Cloud Essential Characteristics

This unit teaches learners about the NIST Model of Cloud Computing, resource pooling, and multi-tenancy. With a blend of interactive graphs, each concept is easily broken down into bite-sized chunks.

Learn more about Module 1.

Module 3: Managing Cloud Security and Risk

For non-tech staff that may be interacting within the cloud, Module 3 covers important considerations when managing security and risk for cloud computing. A majority of the content focuses on legal and compliance issues. In 7 units, students will cover information about risk and governance from CSA’s Security Guidance. Module 3 has an estimated completion time of 2 hours.

To deep dive into cloud security and risk, learners will first discover the implications of the cloud on governance with a focus on contracts and controls. They’ll also learn about managing compliance and audits for cloud deployments. A knowledge check at the end of the units allows learners to test their understanding of the material. Learn more about two of the units included with Module 3 below.

Unit 3 - Managing Cloud Security Risk

In this unit, learners will discover how cloud security risk ties into overall enterprise risk. They will additionally learn how to perform risk assessments based on the value of the data being transitioned to the cloud.

Unit 5 - Legal Considerations for Cloud

This unit focuses on the global environment and related trends that have an impact on legal considerations for the cloud. The importance of how countries, states, and other organizations view data protection is emphasized, including reactions to security breaches.

Learn more about Module 3.

Module 6: Cloud Security Operations

The last module in the series explains key considerations for evaluating, selecting, and managing cloud service providers. Security issues related to cloud computing appear when you work with Big Data, mobile, serverless, and IoT technologies. Through 7 units, students will learn about the advantages and disadvantages of Software as a Service (SaaS) and third-party cloud providers. Module 6 has an estimated completion time of 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Unit 3 - Incident Response

This unit teaches students about incident preparation, prevention, and response. An important distinction is made between cloud providers and cloud customers, who may have differing priorities in an incident.

Unit 4 - SECaaS Fundamentals

This unit defines Security as a Service and explains how SECaaS products and services function. Students also learn about the benefits and drawbacks of SECaaS, and the overall importance of security accountability.

Learn more about Module 6.

CSA is dedicated to defining and raising awareness of cloud-related best practices. Our resources are available to help you continue your journey with the cloud. If you have any questions or need help figuring out which learning path is best for you, please reach out to [email protected].

Share this content on your favorite social network today!

Sign up to receive CSA's latest blogs

This list receives 1-2 emails a month.