Cloud Security Alliance Develops Third-Party Certification Scheme with Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore Arrow to Content

CSA CONGRESS ASIA PACIFIC – Singapore – May 15, 2013 – The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), a not-for-profit organization with a mission to promote the use of best practices for providing security assurance within Cloud Computing, today announced a new partnership with the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) to define a scheme under the CSA Open Certification Framework (OCF) and Singapore Multi-Tier Cloud Security standard. The co-branded certification mark will be issued under the CSA STAR registry and details of the certification process will be discussed this week at the CSA APAC Congress taking place May 15-16 at the Marriott Hotel in Singapore.

The CSA Security, Trust & Assurance Registry (STAR) is a free, publicly accessible registry that documents the security controls provided by various cloud computing offerings, thereby helping users assess the security of cloud providers they currently use or are considering contracting with.  CSA APAC’s collaboration with IDA aims to provide a platform for cross recognition and potential cross-certification that will allow for a cloud service provider to have a “local” certification for the Singapore market as well as a recognized “international” certification for the global market.

“Organizations such as the IDA along with other Singaporean entities have already been working diligently on defining specifications for multi-tiered cloud computing security,” said Aloysius Cheang, Managing Director APAC, for the CSA. “Through this partnership, we believe both organizations together will be able to define and publish a robust cross-certification scheme that will benefit all APAC cloud service providers and their customers.”Mr Khoong Hock Yun, Assistant Chief Executive (Infrastructure and Services Development), IDA, said, “IDA is embarking on a joint collaboration with Cloud Security Alliance to enable cloud service providers in Singapore who are certified under the multi-tier cloud security standards, an opportunity to obtain the CSA’s OCF certification for wider recognition.  Likewise, OCF-certified cloud service providers can also obtain certification on the multi-tier cloud security standards should they seek to address the Singapore market.”

About the Cloud Security Alliance
The Cloud Security Alliance is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to promote the use of best practices for providing security assurance within Cloud Computing, and to provide education on the uses of Cloud Computing to help secure all other forms of computing. The Cloud Security Alliance is led by a broad coalition of industry practitioners, corporations, associations and other key stakeholders. For further information, visit us at, and follow us on Twitter @cloudsa.

Kari Walker
ZAG Communications for the CSA
[email protected]

Page Dividing Line
This website uses cookies to improve functionality and performance. If you continue browsing the site, you are giving implied consent to the use of cookies on this website. See our Cookie Policy for details.