Cloud 101CircleEventsBlog
Gain exclusive access to CSA’s extensive network of cloud security experts by becoming a corporate member. Learn how today.

STAR Registry Listing for

VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™

Founded in 2013 by the Cloud Security Alliance, the Security Trust Assurance and Risk (STAR) registry encompasses key principles of transparency, rigorous auditing, and cloud security and privacy best practices.

VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™ Logo
VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™

VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™

VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™ (the “Service Offering”) provides multi-cloud load
balancing, web application firewall, application analytics, and container ingress services from the
data center to the cloud with enhanced operations delivered through SaaS. NSX Advanced Load
Balancer can be deployed in a customer’s own environment and/or consumed as a hosted
The Service Offering has four main components:

1.Software Data Plane (VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer Service Engines) - provide
the data plane functionality for local and global load balancing, application security,
container ingress services, IPAM and DNS.

2.Software Control Plane (VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer Controller™) –
responsible for placement of the Service Engines (load balancing data plane entities),
elasticity, scale, automation, analytics, and resiliency.

3.Cloud Services (VMware NSX Advanced Load Balancer cloud services) - enables value
added operational capabilities to the VMware NSX Advanced Load Balancer deployments
delivered through the cloud services portal.

4.Hosted Controller Service (VMware NSX Advanced Load Balancer Hosted Controller
Service) – allows customers to use the Software Control Plane (NSX Advanced Load
Balancer Controller) hosted and managed by VMware. This is an optional service included
with the Service Offering, and requires customers to opt-in to use the service.

View other services by VMware, Inc.:

Organizations who have the CSA Trusted Cloud Provider seal demonstrate a commitment to organizational security. They are a CSA Corporate Member volunteer regularly for CSA, and have at least one staff member who has earned their CCSK.
Information about VMware NSX® Advanced Load Balancer™
Listed Since: 08/11/2022
Last Updated: 07/22/2023

Level 1: Self-Assessment

At level one organizations can submit one or both of the security and privacy self-assessments. These are based off of the Cloud Controls Matrix and the CSA Code of Conduct for GDPR Compliance.

Security Self-Assessment
Consensus Assessments Initiative Questionnaire v4.0.2
Offers an industry-accepted way to document what security controls exist in IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS services. It provides a set of Yes/No questions a cloud consumer and cloud auditor may wish to ask of a cloud provider to ascertain their compliance to the CSA Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM).