Cloud 101CircleEventsBlog
Register now for CSA’s free Virtual AI Summit taking place January 17-18th

CSA Official Press Release

Published 01/21/2021

Cloud Security Alliance’s New Cloud Controls Matrix v4 Adds New Log and Monitoring Domain and More Than 60 New Cloud Security Controls

Cloud Security Alliance’s New Cloud Controls Matrix v4 Adds New Log and Monitoring Domain and More Than 60 New Cloud Security Controls

Represents significant increase in requirements resulting from new cloud technologies

SEATTLE – Jan. 21, 2021 – The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), the world’s leading organization dedicated to defining standards, certifications and best practices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment, today announced the availability of version 4 of the Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM), CSA’s flagship cybersecurity framework for cloud computing. The CCM v4 includes additional cloud security and privacy-related controls and encompasses coverage of requirements deriving from new cloud technologies, improved control auditability, enhanced interoperability and compatibility with other standards, and expanded support offerings to navigate the cloud shared responsibility model.

CCM is a cybersecurity control framework for cloud computing that aligns to the CSA Best Practices and is considered the de-facto standard for cloud security and privacy. CCM v4 constitutes a significant upgrade to the previous version (v3.0.1) by introducing changes in the framework structure with a new domain dedicated to Logging and Monitoring (LOG), and modifications in the existing ones including governance, risk and compliance (GRC); auditing and assurance (A&A); unified endpoint management (UEM); and cryptography, encryption and key management (CEK).

“CSA’s Cloud Controls Matrix continues to lead the security industry and market as the cloud provider and user-centric control framework of choice. With an increasingly complex array of cloud technologies, controls, and frameworks, it’s vital that cloud customers have clear, definitive insight into the risks, roles, and responsibilities to which they and their chosen cloud service provider must adhere,” said Jim Reavis, co-founder and CEO, Cloud Security Alliance.

The CCMv4 was developed by an expert group of more than 70 practitioners and industry leaders representing key cloud stakeholders, among them cloud service providers, cloud customers, auditors, and consulting firms. It features 17 domains, up one from the previous iteration, and a total of 197 controls (up from 133). In early February, the 64 new controls will be accompanied by mappings with ISO/IEC 27001-2013, ISO/IEC 27017-2015, ISO/IEC 27018-2019, AICPA TSC v2017, and CCM V3.0.1.

“The world is changing at rapid-fire pace, and cloud security providers are having to not only keep pace but stay one step ahead. CCMv4 provides enterprises with an additional layer of transparency and confidence that their CSPs are following recommended security best practices,” said Daniele Catteddu, Chief Technology Officer, Cloud Security Alliance.

In addition to the set of core controls, CCMv4 will roll out additional components over the coming year:

  • CCM Implementation Guidelines: Guidance to support the implementation of CCM controls. (Tentative release date: early Q2 2021).
  • Consensus Assessments Initiative Questionnaire (CAIQ): Questionnaire related to CCM controls (Tentative release date: early Q2 2021)
  • Control Applicability Matrix: Support to define the attribution of responsibilities between cloud service providers and customers. (Tentative release date: early Q2 2021)
  • Organizational Relevance: A support to define the organizational relevance of each control based on work done by the CSA Enterprise Architecture working group. (Tentative release date: early Q2 2021)
  • CCM Auditing Guidelines: Guidance to support the auditing and assessment of CCM controls. (Tentative release date: early Q3 2021)
  • CCM Lite: A lightweight version of CCM, including a subset of the CCM Controls which represent the CCM foundational controls, i.e., those that organizations should implement regardless. (Tentative release date: early Q4 2021)
  • Translation of CCM in other languages

Beyond the above initiatives, CSA will be working over the course of 2021 to create additional mapping to relevant standards, best practices, laws and regulations (e.g., NIST 800-53 Rev 5, ENISA Security Controls for Cloud Services, CIS Controls, PCI-DSS).

The CCMv4 is a free resource and is available for download now.

About Cloud Security Alliance
The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) is the world’s leading organization dedicated to defining and raising awareness of best practices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment. CSA harnesses the subject matter expertise of industry practitioners, associations, governments, and its corporate and individual members to offer cloud security-specific research, education, training, certification, events, and products. CSA's activities, knowledge, and extensive network benefit the entire community impacted by cloud — from providers and customers to governments, entrepreneurs, and the assurance industry — and provide a forum through which different parties can work together to create and maintain a trusted cloud ecosystem. For further information, visit us at, and follow us on Twitter @cloudsa.

Share this content on your favorite social network today!

About Cloud Security Alliance

The Cloud Security Alliance is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to promote the use of best practices for providing security assurance within Cloud Computing, and to provide education on the uses of Cloud Computing to help secure all other forms of computing. The Cloud Security Alliance is led by a broad coalition of industry practitioners, corporations, associations and other key stakeholders. For further information, follow us on Twitter @cloudsa.

For press inquiries, email Zenobia Godschalk of ZAG Communications or reach her by phone at 650.269.8315.