The issues and opportunities of cloud computing gained considerable notice in 2008 within the information security community. At the ISSA CISO Forum in Las Vegas, in November of 2008, the concept of the Cloud Security Alliance was born. Following a presentation of emerging trends by Jim Reavis that included a call for action for securing cloud computing, Reavis and Nils Puhlmann outlined the initial mission and strategy of the CSA. A series of organizational meetings with industry leaders in early December 2008 formalized the founding of the CSA. Our outreach to the information security community to create our initial work product for the 2009 RSA Conference resulted in dozens of volunteers to research, author, edit and review our first whitepaper.

Selected Milestones

2009: Incorporated, Issued the first comprehensive best practices for secure cloud computing, “Security Guidance for Critical Areas of Focus for Cloud Computing”
2010: Created and maintains the Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM), the world’s only meta-framework of cloud-specific security controls, mapped to leading standards, best practices and regulations
2010: Created the first and only user credential for cloud security, the Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)
2011: Hosted the White House at our CSA Summit to announce the US Federal Cloud Strategy
2012: Established CSA Europe in Edinburgh, UK
2012: Launched the registry of cloud provider security practices, the CSA Security, Trust and Assurance Registry (STAR)
2013: Established CSA Asia Pacific in Singapore
2013: Launched CSA STAR Certification
2013: Release Big Data Security & Privacy Research
2014: Established representation in Peoples Republic of China
2014: Release Software Defined Perimeter Specifications
2014: Launched CSA STAR Attestation

Founding Members

Phil Agcaoili
Jerry Archer
Todd Barbee
Jeff Bardin
Girish Bhat
Alan Boehme
Larry Brock
Glenn Brunette
Jake Brunetto
Jon Callas
Sean Catlett
Shawn Chaput
Jay Chaudhry
Anton Chuvakin
Philippe Courtot
Dave Cullinane
Joshua Davis
Dr Ken Fauth
Robert Fly
Jeff Forristal
Pam Fusco
Francoise Gilbert
Edward Haletky
Jim Hietala
Christofer Hoff
Dennis Hurst
Michael Johnson
         Shail Khiyara
Subra Kumaraswamy
Paul Kurtz
Mark Leary
Liam Lynch
Tim Mather
Scott Matsumoto
Dave Morrow
Izak Mutlu
Brian O'Higgins
Jean Pawluk
Josh Pennell
Nils Puhlmann
Jim Reavis
George Reese
Jeff Reich
Jeffrey Ritter
Ben Rothke
Stephen Sengam
Ward Spangenberg
Jeff Spivey
Michael Sutton
Lynne Terwoerds
Dave Tyson
John Viega
Dov Yoran
Josh Zachry

Founding Charter Companies


Founding Affiliate Members