Cloud 101CircleEventsBlog
Call for Presentations: Share your expertise at 2024! Submit your proposals by June 28th.

Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)

The standard of expertise for cloud security.

Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge

As organizations migrate to the cloud, they need information security professionals who are cloud-savvy. The CCSK certificate is widely recognized as the standard of expertise for cloud security and gives you a cohesive and vendor-neutral understanding of how to secure data in the cloud. The CCSK credential is the foundation to prepare you to earn additional cloud credentials specific to certain vendors or job functions.

Earning the CCSK will provide you with the knowledge to effectively develop a holistic cloud security program relative to globally accepted standards. It covers key areas, including best practices for IAM, cloud incident response, application security, data encryption, SecaaS, securing emerging technologies, and more. If you want to learn more, you can read our guide to earning the CCSK.

What are the benefits of earning your CCSK?

Increase employment opportunities by filling the skills-gap for cloud-certified professionals.

Demonstrate your technical knowledge, skills, and abilities to effectively use controls tailored to the cloud.

Learn to establish a baseline of security best practices when dealing with a broad array of responsibilities, from cloud governance to configuring technical security controls.

Credentials the CCSK Complements

If you are looking to earn the CCAK, we recommend earning your CCSK first. The CCSK also complements the following credentials:

Who should earn their CCSK?

Cybersecurity analystsSecurity EngineersSecurity ArchitectsEnterprise ArchitectsSecurity AdministratorsCompliance ManagersSecurity ConsultantsSystems EngineersCISOs

How to Prepare for the CCSK Exam

The CCSK is an open-book, online exam, completed in 90 minutes with 60 multiple-choice questions selected randomly from the CCSK question pool. Purchasing the exam costs $395 and provides you with two test attempts, which you will have 2 years to use. The minimum passing score is 80%. The CCSK exam is offered in multiple languages languages, including English, Spanish, and Japanese. There are several ways you can prepare for the exam.
Option 1

Study on Your Own

You can also study for the exam yourself using our free prep-kit. The kit includes sample questions, an outline of the domains and topics covered in the exam, as well as all of the documents you will be tested on.

Download Prep-Kit
Option 2

Enroll in Training

There are two types of training for the CCSK, the regular class is lectures-only, but there is a lectures + labs version (CCSK Plus) as well where students practice bringing a fictional organization securely into the cloud.

Class Formats:

Courses are typically offered in English, but instructors are willing to provide other language options based on demand. The Online Self-Paced trainings are only offered in English.

View Upcoming Classes

Want to train multiple members of your team?

Study Materials

The Security Guidance v.4 outlines specific uses and applications of the cloud and addresses regulatory issues and inherent risks in using cloud computing on various technologies including: IoT, blockchain and DevSecOps.


CSA Security Guidance v.4

An in-depth and independent analysis outlining the information security benefits and key security risks of cloud computing with practical advice on how to protect your organization.


ENISA Recommendations

The Cloud Controls Matrix provides fundamental security principles that guide cloud service vendors toward the most secure practices. For prospective cloud customers it helps in assessing the overall security posture of cloud providers.


CSA Cloud Controls Matrix

Corporate members receive discounts on the CCSK

Topics Covered

Course Outline

CSA CCSK Domain 01 Icon


Cloud Computing Concepts and Architecture
CSA CCSK Domain 02 Icon


Governance and Enterprise Risk Management
CSA CCSK Domain 03 Icon


Legal Issues, Contracts, and Electronic Discovery
CSA CCSK Domain 04 Icon


Compliance and Audit Management
CSA CCSK Domain 05 Icon


Information Governance
CSA CCSK Domain 06 Icon


Management Plane and Business Continuity
CSA CCSK Domain 07 Icon


Infrastructure Security
CSA CCSK Domain 08 Icon


Virtualization and Containers
CSA CCSK Domain 09 Icon


Incident Response
CSA CCSK Domain 10 Icon


Application Security
CSA CCSK Domain 11 Icon


Data Security and Encryption
CSA CCSK Domain 12 Icon


Identity, Entitlement and Access Management
CSA CCSK Domain 13 Icon


Security as a Service
CSA CCSK Domain 14 Icon


Related Technologies


Cloud Controls Matrix


ENISA Recommendations

CCSK digital badge now available through Credly

CCSK holders can showcase their credentials through a CCSK digital badge. In partnership with Credly, the digital badge helps you gain recognition for earning your certificate by allowing you to display and share your achievement.

Your digital badge has a unique URL that can be used in your email signature, personal websites, social media sites, and on electronic copies of resumes. It serves as a digital representation of your knowledge, skills, and credential achievements.

Explore digital badges and claim yours →

Industry Support

CCSK Success Stories

CCSK Success Stories: CSA Japan Chapter Executive Director
Read now
CCSK Success Stories: From the VP of Internal Security and IT
Read now
CCSK Success Stories: Cloud Security Training from a CTO’s Perspective
Read now
CCSK Success Stories: From the Financial Sector
Read now
CCSK Success Stories: From an Information Systems Security Manager
Read now
CCSK Success Stories: From a Cybersecurity Assistant Director
Read now